Things that just occurred to me, in no particular order

Going long

I’ve surrendered a good bit of my time to a total hoax, the Ong’s Hat mystery.

Part of me knew, even back then, that it was a complete fiction but I didn’t care because it was so cool. It told a story of a forgotten cult, multiple worlds physics, forbidden science and tantric sex all wrapped up an innocent college course brochure.

Most of all, it was a ripping fun yarn made to look like a simple, everyday prose. It wasn’t a quick joke or short story but rewarded sitting, reading, clicking and paying attention.

I like sites that. Another favorite to this day, is the MayDay Mystery. It’s worth checking out if you like puzzles and conspiracy tales. I have no idea if it’s a fiction or not but it is fun and it will take up time. I still visit it every few months or so just to see what’s changed. I don’t care if it’s a hoax because it’s cool.

The world may have moved away from that kind of long form fiction. Twitter and Youtube both offer shorter bits of story and narrative and I’ve had people tell me it’s the future.

But I’ve noticed some interesting long form experiments over the last few weeks. Maybe they are being pushed by the iPad’s success or maybe they’re a reaction to Lost, but some Internet sites are experimenting with longer tales.

BoingBoing, one of my favorite sources for short bits of Internet errata, has presented long form short stories over the last two weeks. I recommend reading both Facebook of the Dead and Nomen Ludi. Neither are sci-fi or big conspiracy things but nice long bits of narrative. Well written and good reads.

Then, Tuesday, Wired unleashed this supposedly leaked dream-mapping top-secret manual. It was unmasked as a promotion for a new sci-fi film due out in a few weeks, but I  don’t care. It’s detailed and fun to read.

Then, some geniuses unveiled the Church of Tarvu last week with an accompanying Wiki. Fun, silly, well written.

So, I have some fun stuff to to read this summer.

