Things that just occurred to me, in no particular order

Contrary

If I had a secret power, I think I’d be Contrary Man, that guy that can argue either side of a controversy without ever letting on how he really feels.

It really started when I was quite young, when my friends would start going on about something, like how cool Superman was. I’d tell them Batman was infinitely cooler, not because I actually liked Batman but because I enjoyed the look on their faces.

Somewhere along the line, however, that sheer childish contrarian glee morphed into true social agnosticism. Don’t get me wrong. I feel strongly about some things: Flavored coffees are a true violation against the laws of nature and people that drive at or below the speed limit in good weather should be sharply ridiculed.

But I feel the way I feel about most things, and that’s good enough for me. I can still argue both sides, and I find a real value in that. Frankly, I get  tired of people that have a position. It’s boring for a person and deadly for a journalist.

In my mind, a journalist is someone who can go to a person they disagree with completely, get their story and thoughts and translate them into some medium for others. And both the person being interviewed and the people they disagree with can find something to hate about the story.

If everybody’s annoyed but informed, you’ve done your job. Go enjoy a nice non-flavored coffee of your choice.

Comments on: "Contrary" (2)

  1. Miss Merlene said:

    certainly explains A LOT. lol 🙂

  2. Miss Merlene said:

    that explains A LOT. lol 🙂

Comments are closed.

