Things that just occurred to me, in no particular order

Eschat Singing

There’s a thrill when the old odometer turns over. Don’t deny it

Some people pull over and take pictures of their car at that 999999.99 point. Some just drive on, but even they get that little tickle of pride in their old beater car. It’s still a beater, but now it’s special.

So it goes with the old Apocalypse game. I’m an old hand at them, you know. I’ve lived through a few.

My first as he so called “Crash of ’79.” A few prophets couldn’t imagine the numbers flipping over to 1980, so they expected it would all crash down before that happened.

When that didn’t happen, they turned their eyes to 1982. Then there was the Harmonic Convergence in 1986, then panics in 1989 and 1990 followed by the grand daddy of Apocalypses, Y2K.

Nothing.

I’ve always been fascinated by Eschatology, the study of the End of the World.

When I was a kid, they used to keep all the end of the world books and Christian diet plans next to the comic books at my Mom’s grocery store: The Late Great Planet Earth, Chariots of the Gods and a couple of others.

My best friend’s folks were a serious pair of Bible Believing Christians, so he had all of the best gory Judgment Day comic books and the Chick cartoon tracts. A good Catholic boy, I ate those things up.

I worked for a big old New Ager in college, at the time of the Harmonic Convergence and listened to all of her happy chatter about the dawning of the age of Aquarius when the planets lined up.

And then, on X-Day , July 5, 1998, I admit I smirked about when the SubGenius Eschaton didn’t immanetize.

So I’m not expecting a whole bunch of of 2012, the date that all of the History Channel documentaries, Nostrodamus prophecies, Mayan Calendars and Art Bell seem to point to.

See, I think deep down they want it to end. They want there to be an exclamation point to all this existence. They want an end to the narrative — but there isn’t one. The biggest part of all these stories is what happens next, whether it’s a 1,000 years of peace, the end of the Kali Yuga or Galactic Consciousness.

There’s always a next something, evenĀ  if it’s just another apocalypse.

Comments on: "Eschat Singing" (1)

  1. Miss Merlene said:

    It’s the end of the world as we know it….you may, or may not, know the rest. Was Stipe prescient or just linguistically gifted?

Comments are closed.

